11 12 0
21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 0

National Social Assistance Programme


The National Social Assistance Scheme (NSAS) or National Social Assistance Programme (NSAP) is a flagship welfare program of the Government of India initiated on 15 August 1995. Article 41 of the Indian Constitution directs the State to provide public assistance to its citizens in case of unemployment, old age, sickness and disablement and in other cases of undeserved want within the limit of its economic capacity and development. The scheme is a "giant step" towards achieving the directive principle in the Constitution. Under this Programme, there are different Schemes. Some of the Schemes that are availed are:





1. Indira Gandhi National Old Age Pension Scheme (IGNOAPS): Under this scheme, Department of Social Welfare, Govt. of Manipur is providing financial assistance to the old aged & confirmed persons / destitute under Manipur Old Age Pension Rules continuously. A sum of Rs. 400/- p.m. has been given to these old and aged persons as pension. It is preferably given to low income group and handicaps (both male and female).

Click of the Assembly Constituency name for list of beneficiaries under IGNOAPS of Ukhrul District
Ukhrul ACpdf, Chingai ACpdf, Phungyar ACpdf

2. Indira Gandhi National Widow Pension Scheme (IGNWPS): It is effective/existence from February, 2009. • The age of the widow shall be between 40-59 years. • The applicant must belong to a household below the poverty line according to the criteria prescribed by the Government of India. • The central assistance under IGNVVPS will be provided at the rate of Rs.200 per month per beneficiary. • The State Governments are urged to contribute at least equally towards the pension amount.

List of beneficiaries under IGNWPS of Ukhrul District (PDF formatpdf)

3. Indira Gandhi National Disability Pension Scheme (IGNDPS): Rural development - Mid-term appraisal of the eleventh five year plan - Report by the Planning Commission Submitted by aarti on September 22, 2010. The Eleventh Plan (2007-08 to 2011-12) sought to build on the gains achieved in the Tenth Plan and shift the economy to a path of faster and more inclusive growth. The Mid Term Appraisal (MTA) report for the Eleventh Five Year Plan 2007-2012 by the Planning Commission reviews the experience in the first three years of the Plan and seeks to identify areas where corrective steps may be needed.

List of beneficiaries under IGNDPS of Ukhrul District (PDF formatpdf)

4. Manipur Old Age Pension (MOAP): Department of Social Welfare, Govt. of Manipur is proving financial assistance to the old aged & infirmed persons / destitute as pensions. In exercise of the this scheme, Govt. of Manipur has published Rules and regulation. Some of them are provided here for reference. Old aged persons, destitute, widows who don't have any income or sources of income, either of his own or anyone else who is legally liable to support him or her . If both husband and wife are destitute, each one of them shall be eligible for pension. Widows who don't have any source of income including income from property owned by her or who has an earning brother are eligible for the pension.

Click of the Assembly Constituency name for list of beneficiaries under MOAPS of Ukhrul District
Ukhrul ACpdf, Chingai ACpdf, Phungyar ACpdf