Deputy Commissioner

The District administration is headed by a Deputy Commissioner who is assisted by an Additional Deputy Commissioner, four Sub-Divisional Officers respectively incharge of Ukhrul Chingai, Jesami, Ukhrul and Lungchong Maiphei. The Deputy Commissioner (DC) or District magistrate (DM) is the head of the revenue administration. The DC is required to be an Indian Administrative Service (IAS) officer who is in charge of governmental assets in the district of jurisdiction. The DC is responsible for collecting revenue within the district, as it pertains to various governmental enactments such as Stamp and Registration Act, Land Reforms Act, Irrigation Act, Excise Act and Public Health Act. When executing duties with regard to revenue collection, the DC can exercise quasi-judicial functions.